What exactly does this computer do for me?

It does quite a lot, actually. Between Facebook, Twitter and blogging, the amount of free and easy networking is incredible. As a public relations major I’m am learning so much about using electronic forms of communication to broaden the amount of people I can reach.

Just keeping a weekly blog helps me practice for what I’m going to be doing for the rest of my life. Lot’s of my potential employers would want to see some kind of example of what I could be doing for them and by having a blog I can easily show them what I am capable of. Once I actually have a job in my field, I can still use electronic communications to help promote my company or events that my company is sponsoring.

Blogs are a great way to add transparency to a company and help clients trust you. A good example of this would be Zappos shoe company. They have their employees post video blogs on Youtube.com to show what a fun environment they work in. The best part about their video blogs is that they are able to put anything they want in them so you know that they aren’t just putting on an act.

There have been a number of people that have jump started their careers using blogging. Ree Drummond, author of the blog The Pioneer Woman, got a book deal because of the popularity of her blog.

There is so much that you can do with electronic communication these days, no wonder people spend so much time with their computers.

Leave a Reply

